The final three Overwatch League franchises confirmed

And the inaugural season has been detailed and dated.

Subscribe to our newsletter here!

* Required field

The rumours have been proven true, with Blizzard confirming the final three teams for the inaugural season of the Overwatch League. Specifically, the three final franchise cities to be announced are Philidelphia, Dallas, and Houston.

Comcast Spectacor, the same company that runs the Philadelphia Flyers, will be in charge of the Philadelphia-based team, while OpTic will take the Houston spot. Finally, Team Envy will be taking Overwatch to Dallas.

Just as importantly, it was also announced that preseason play will kick off on December 6 via exhibition matches featuring all twelve teams, giving us a good look at the dangerous dozen before the regular season subsequently kicks off on January 10.

The league will then run through until June, with the playoffs and finals due to take place in July. During the inaugural season, games will take place at the Blizzard Arena in Burbank California.

"With the first 12 teams in place, we're now just a few short months away from the inaugural season of the Overwatch League," Blizzard CEO Mike Morhaime said. "This is a huge milestone for the league; we can't wait for the action to get underway and to see some of the top competitive Overwatch players in the world facing off to become the first-ever Overwatch League champions."


Related texts



REVIEW. Written by Rasmus Lund-Hansen

"Overwatch is, without a doubt, the best multiplayer-shooter I've ever had my hands on."

Loading next content


Gamereactor uses cookies to ensure that we give you the best browsing experience on our website. If you continue, we'll assume that you are happy with our cookies policy